Day 6 – Collinwood to Fly Hallow

Today was a short day, as planned.  I had been tracking a storm last evening so I made a run for it early in the morning.  Not much to see in this part of the trace so I just moved on in hopes to beat the storm.  The weather was cool and beautiful so I spent the morning shooting pictures, looking around and enjoying the ride.  The spring smells were out in full force today and I about got knocked off my bike with a wave a honeysuckle. 

I took a quick break to stop by the Meriwether Lewis park and see some sights.  Just then, the skies darkened even more and began to drizzle.  I found shelter at a bathroom building and took a while to do some reading about the place and prepare for my next arrival which was only 5 miles down the road. 

Meriwether Lewis (August 18, 1774 – October 11, 1809) was an American Explorer, soldier, politician, and public administrator, best known for his role as the leader of the Lewis and Clark Expedition. Their mission was to explore the territory of the Louisiana Purchase, establish trade with, and sovereignty over the natives near the Missouri River. President Thomas Jefferson appointed him Governor of Upper Louisiana in 1806. He died of gunshot wounds in what was either a murder or suicide, in 1809. The cause of death has been a mystery.

The storm let up so I took off.

It was only 11 in the morning and I was done for the day so I pulled into Fly Hallow campground and immediately ran into Bill the owner.  He said that he was on his way into town to run some errands and asked if I wanted to ride along.  I sure did, so I dumped my stuff and grabbed a quick shower.  Hollenwald is a swiss settlement in central Tennessee and the closest town in these parts.  I was treated to a hot lunch and good conversation, which was appreciated at this point in the trip.

When we pulled back into the campground, another biker was there looking tired and hungry.  I mentioned to Bill that I thought I recognized him and in fact I did.  This was a gentleman I rode a bit with on the previous day.  He was turning 70 this month and was hoping to make it to Minneapolis for his birthday.  Bill fixed him a quick lunch and offered him a night’s stay.  After all of us chatting until about 4:00, he decided to stay too.  It was nice to have some good conversation and share stories.  He had done many of these trips including a ride from Cairo to the Cape of Good Hope.  

Bill shuttled us both into town for dinner.  Tonight will be Tex-Mex and a beer.  That was great change to granola and Gatorade.  There was much resting to do this evening, for the hills are coming in the morning. I was excited for the next day to be my last buit I wasn’t sure if adrenaline or climbs would win out.

Leave a comment